United States · Manufacturer direct · Brand-name

NovoCare Pharmacy (Wegovy) review

Novo Nordisk’s own pharmacy channel for brand-name semaglutide, including the Wegovy pill, with self-pay prices published per form and dose.

Reviewed 2026-08-149/13 checklist items publishedProvider site ↗

Overview

NovoCare Pharmacy is Novo Nordisk’s direct channel for Wegovy — the brand-name semaglutide approved for weight management. Like LillyDirect it is a pharmacy rather than a clinic: Novo states “Wegovy requires a prescription. Ask your health care provider if it’s appropriate for you,” and the flow begins with “have your provider send your prescription to NovoCare Pharmacy.”

The pricing is unusually legible for this market and is split by form. The Wegovy pill (oral semaglutide) is listed “starting at $149 per month” for the 1.5 mg and 4 mg doses. The injection pen is listed at $199 per month for the first two months for new patients, a limited-time offer. The high-dose 7.2 mg pen is listed “starting at $399/month.” Novo also states plainly that “you don’t need a savings offer or insurance to get these prices through NovoCare Pharmacy.”

One caveat on that $149. Novo’s footnote says patients pay it “for each month of 1.5 mg and 4 mg” — the two titration strengths. The pill titrates upward every 30 days to a 25 mg maximum, and 25 mg is the dose OASIS 4 tested to reach 14% weight loss. We could not find a self-pay price for 25 mg published anywhere on the pricing page, so the advertised figure covers getting started rather than staying on it. Ask what the maintenance month costs before you plan around $149.

Two dates matter more than the numbers: Novo notes pill pricing is “to be updated after August 31, 2026” and pen pricing “to be updated after December 31, 2026.” Anyone budgeting past those dates is budgeting against a price the manufacturer has already said will change.

Medications and supply

Brand-name, FDA-approved, dispensed by the manufacturer’s own pharmacy.

  • Wegovy (semaglutide) injection
  • Wegovy (semaglutide) tablets
  • Wegovy HD 7.2 mg

How the service works

Consultation
None offered. Novo directs patients to their own healthcare provider for the prescription.
Eligibility
For the savings offer, Novo states it is available to people with commercial insurance or who are uninsured/self-paying, and that government-insured patients may use it if they self-pay outside their insurance. Federal Employees Health Benefits, Health Exchange plans, and state employee plans are excluded.
Provider involvement
None. Pharmacy and fulfilment only.
Lab requirements
Not stated in the sources we checked.
Pharmacy fulfilment
NovoCare Pharmacy, operated for Novo Nordisk.
Shipping
Novo states “shipping and delivery are free,” with delivery scheduled after payment, or pickup available.
Support services
Not stated in the sources we checked.

What it costs

Published prices for NovoCare Pharmacy (Wegovy)
ItemPublished priceNotes
Wegovy pill, 1.5 mg or 4 mgfrom $149 / monthThe two titration doses. The 4 mg offer runs only to 31 Aug 2026, then $199
Wegovy pill, 25 mgNot publishedThe maintenance dose, and the one OASIS 4 studied. No self-pay price appears for it on the pricing page
Wegovy pen, new patients$199 / monthfirst 2 months; limited-time, to be updated after 31 Dec 2026
Wegovy HD 7.2 mg penfrom $399 / month—
With commercial insuranceas little as $25 / monthsavings offer, maximum $100/month benefit
Membership fee
None — there is no subscription.
Medication fee
The medication price is the whole price.
Insurance
Both routes are supported. Novo states self-pay is available “if you don’t have insurance or choose not to use it,” and separately offers a commercial-insurance savings offer of “as little as $25 per month” with a maximum $100/month benefit.
HSA / FSA
Not stated in the sources we checked.
Cancellation
Not applicable — there is no recurring membership.
Refunds
Not stated in the sources we checked.

Pros

  • Published self-pay prices with no insurance or savings card required
  • The oral option at $149/month is the cheapest verified brand-name entry point we found
  • Free shipping stated outright
  • Brand-name approved product from the manufacturer

Cons

  • No prescriber — you need a prescription before you start
  • Two of the three headline prices carry a stated expiry date
  • The $199 pen price is explicitly first-two-months, new-patients-only
  • Maintenance-dose pricing after the introductory period is not shown on the page

Who it may suit

Someone with a Wegovy prescription who wants the manufacturer price, and particularly anyone open to the oral form at the lower published price.

Limitations

  • Semaglutide only — no tirzepatide option
  • No clinical support or coaching included
  • The headline prices are time-limited by the manufacturer’s own notice

Questions

Do I need insurance to get the NovoCare price?

No. Novo states directly: “You don’t need a savings offer or insurance to get these prices through NovoCare Pharmacy.”

Is the Wegovy pill cheaper than the injection?

On the published self-pay list, yes — the pill is listed from $149/month for 1.5 mg and 4 mg, against $199/month for the pen and that only for the first two months for new patients.

How long will these prices last?

Novo itself flags that pill pricing is to be updated after 31 August 2026 and pen pricing after 31 December 2026.

Sources

Everything on this page traces to one of the links below, retrieved on the date shown. Prices and programme terms in this market change without notice — confirm against the provider before you buy.

  1. 01FDA warning letter — Novo Nordisk Inc., MARCS-CMS 716495, 9 September 2025 (cited from the search index and trade reporting; fda.gov refused direct retrieval)retrieved 2026-08-16
  2. 02Pharmaceutical Executive — “FDA Sends Warning Letters to Novo Nordisk, Eli Lilly, and Hims Regarding Misleading Advertising”retrieved 2026-08-16
  3. 03Pharmaceutical Executive — “Novo Nordisk Responds to FDA’s Warning Letter”, on the March 2026 PADE inspection findings (MARCS-CMS 717576)retrieved 2026-08-16
  4. 04NovoCare Pharmacy — Wegovy (doses, self-pay pricing, shipping)retrieved 2026-08-14
  5. 05NovoCare — Wegovy savings offer (terms and eligibility)retrieved 2026-08-14